Tuesday, January 19


'Reed - Stewart rivalry reaches epic status.'

The rivalry between dual World Supercross champion Chad Reed and reigning champion James Stewart reached boiling point today, with the two clashing heavily during the second round of the 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series which was held at Chase Field in Phoenix.
Both Reed and his nemesis were back in the pack at the start of the 20 lap race and followed each other through the early laps. On lap five of race Reed put a pass on Stewart going into a right hand corner and the two collided, leaving Reed with a suspected broken bone in his hand.
Tempers flared following the race but Reed acknowledged his focus is now is on having his hand assessed ahead of next weekend’s third round of the series. 
“We were racing hard and we were racing for a championship where every point counts, as we saw at the end of last season,” Reed explained.
“James went high and I saw an opportunity to pass and took it and we came together end of story. The main focus for me right now is to seek medical advice and understand what sort of injury my hand has sustained.
“That’s got to be the priority right now then once I know where I am at I will take a little time to reflect on what happened,” he added.
The third instalment of the 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series will see the series head back to Anaheim’s Angel Stadium on Saturday 23rd January.

Top Ten Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series Results - Rd 2 Chase Field, Phoenix

1. Ryan Dungey,  SUZ, 25pts
2. Ryan Villopoto, KAW, 22pts
3. Josh Hill, YAM, 20pts
4. Ivan Tedesco, YAM, 18pts
5. Andrew Short, HON, 16pts
6. Kevin Windham, HON,15pts
7. Austin Stroupe, SUZ, 14pts
8. Justin Brayton, YAM, 13pts
9. Davi Millsaps, HON, 10pts
10. Thomas Hahn, SUZ, 11pts
19. Chad Reed, KAW, 2pts

Top Ten 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Point Standings

1. Ryan Dungey, 47pts 
2. Ryan Villopoto, 38pts 
3. Josh Hill, 35pts
4. Kevin Windham, 35pts
5. Andrew Short, 34pts 
6. Ivan Tedesco, 32pts
7. James Stewart, 31pts
8. Justin Brayton, 26pts
9. Davi Millsaps, 24pts
10. Thomas Hahn, 21pts
21. Chad Reed, 4pts

Source: Fluid PR