Saturday, May 1


SPANIARD Alex Debon, runner-up in the inaugural Moto2 grand prix at Qatar on April 11 has topped the practice time sheet in the new four-stroke class's first practice session at Jerez de la Frontera, with a best lap almost half a second better than Hungarian Gabor Talmacsi. Talmacsi was second, ahead of Spanish domiciled American Kenny Noyes while Qatar winner Shoya Tomizawa was 14th fastest, sandwiched between the vastly more experieinced Toni Elias and Alex De Angelis.

In just their second grand prix, the Moto2 bikes are just over a second off the 250GP lap record.

All competitors use control Honda CBR600 engines prepared by Swiss company Geo Technology.

Jerez de la Frontera, Friday, April 30, 2010
Moto2 class, First Free Practice
1, Alex Debon Aeroport de Castello – Ajo FTR 1m 44.419s
2, Gabor Talmacsi Fimmco Speed Up 1m 44.880s
3, Kenny Noyes Jack & Jones by A. Banderas Promoharris 1m 44.920s
4, Yuki Takahashi Tech 3 Racing TECH 3 1m 44.977s
5, Sergio Gadea Tenerife 40 Pons PONS KALEX 1m 45.162 s
6, Yonny Hernandez Blusens-STX BQR-MOTO2 1m 45.199s
7, Julian Simon Mapfre Aspar Team RSV 1m 45.229s
8, Claudio Corti Forward Racing SUTER 1m 45.351s
9, Thomas Luthi Interwetten Moriwaki Moto2 MORIWAKI 1m 45.352s
10, Jules Cluzel Forward Racing SUTER 1m 45.384s
11, Roberto Rolfo Italtrans S.T.R. SUTER 1m 45.418s
12, Karel Abraham Cardion AB Motoracing RSV 1m 45.493s
13 Toni Elias Gresini Racing Moto2 MORIWAKI 1m 45.517s
14, Shoya Tomizawa Technomag-CIP SUTER 1m 45.560s
15, Alex De Angelis RSM Team Scot FORCE GP210 1m 45.676s
16, Anthony West MZ Racing Team MZ-RE HONDA 1m 45.823s
17, Stefan Bradl Viessmann Kiefer Racing SUTER 1m 45.914s
18, Ratthapark Wilairot Thai Honda PTT Singha SAG BIMOTA 1m 45.924a
19, Axel Pons Tenerife 40 Pons PONS KALEX 1m 45.931s
20, Alex Baldolini Caretta Technology Race Dept I.C.P. 1m 45.951s
21, Fonsi Nieto Holiday Gym G22 MORIWAKI 1m 46.118s
22, Scott Redding Marc VDS Racing Team SUTER 1m 46.134s
23, Dominique Aegerter Technomag-CIP SUTER 1m 46.237s
24, Mike Di Meglio Mapfre Aspar Team RSV 1m 46.353s
25, Raffaele De Rosa Tech 3 Racing TECH 3 1m 46.463s
26, Simone Corsi JIR Moto2 MOTOBI 1m 46.548s
27, Andrea Iannone Fimmco Speed Up SPEED UP 1m 46.558s
28, Joan Olive Jack & Jones by A.Banderas PROMOHARRIS 1m 46.652s
29, Robertino Pietri Italtrans S.T.R. SUTER 1m 46.781s
30, Hector Faubel Marc VDS Racing Team SUTER 1m 46.863s
31, Niccolo Canepa Team Scot FORCE GP210 1m 46.934s
32, Lukas Pesek Matteoni CP Racing MORIWAKI 1m 46.940s
33, Mattia Pasini JIR Moto2 MOTOBI 1m 47.011s
34, Arne Tode Racing Team Germany SUTER 1m 47.016s
35, Bernat Martinez Maquinza-SAG Team BIMOTA 1m 47.178s
36, Vladimir Ivanov Gresini Racing Moto2 MORIWAKI 1m 47.296s
37, Amadeo Lladas Llados Racing Team AJR 1m 47.555s
38, Valentin Debise WTR San Marino Team ADV 1m 47.747s
39, Mashel AL Naimi Blusens-STX BQR-MOTO2 1m 48.195s
40, Yannick Guerra Holiday Gym G22 MORIWAKI 1m 48.318s
41, Vladimir Leonov Vector Kiefer Racing SUTER 1m 48.383s
42, Ivan Moreno Andalucia Cajasol MORIWAKI 1m 49.000s

New class, so no previous lap times. For comparison with the class it has replaced, here are the 250GP records for Jerez:

250GP Pole Record: Dani Pedrosa, Honda, 1m 42.868s – 154.80 km/h (2005).
2009 250GP Pole time: Alex Debon (Aprilia), 1m 43.028s – 154.40 km/h
250GP Lap record: Alvaro Bautisata (Aprilia), 1m 43.338s – 154.10 km/h (2009, lap 15 of 26).
2009 Podium:
1, Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda), 45m 08.805s – 152.832 km/h; 2, Alvaro Bautista (Aprilia), 45m 08.937s; 3, Marco Simoncelli (Gilera), 45m 11.511s