Sunday, May 2


MARC Márquez (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) will start the 125cc race from pole position on Sunday, after breaking a five-year-old 125cc pole position record at the track. The young Spaniard’s hot lap of 1m 46.829s took over a tenth off Mattia Pasini’s 2006 record, and secured him his second consecutive pole of the new season. Alongside him on the front row of an all-Spanish grid will be Pol Espargaró, who dominated both practice sessions but was unable to better Márquez’s stunning time in QP. His Tuenti Racing team-mate Efrén Vázquez and Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX), who was just over half a second off Márquez’s time, occupied the remaining top-four spots. The second row of the grid will be made up of early Championship leader Nico Terol (Bancaja Aspar) and Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo), with British duo Bradley Smith (Bancaja Aspar) and Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol) securing top-eight times too. Webb’s team-mate Alberto Moncayo and Swiss rider Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar Racing) complete the top ten.

For the full 125 grid, go to: