Tuesday, September 21


Blenheim’s Moston Wadsworth, 
sure to be a title contender again this weekend.
Words and photo by Andy McGechan, www.BikesportNZ.com

Champions of the past, present and future come out to play at Mangatawhiri this weekend.

The new venue, north-east of Mercer and south of Bombay, will host the 2010 New Zealand Veterans' and Junior Women's Motocross Championships this Saturday and Sunday with the entry list reading like a who's who and who-used-to-be-who of the sport.

Waikato brothers Darryll and Damien King are determined to defend their four respective national titles and so too is Blenheim’s Moston Wadsworth who, like the Kings, also conquered the field in two separate bike divisions last time around.

Wadsworth won all the races he started at last year’s vets nationals, taking away the championships in both the 45-49 years' under-300cc and over-300cc categories, and few would bet against him doing the same this weekend.

It was a similarly dominant performance from Tokoroa's Tony Livingston last year as he finished the weekend unbeaten in six races in the over-55 years' open class, while Rangiora's Kimberley Murphy was unbeaten in winning the junior women's 125cc title last year.

Other leading riders to watch out for include Wanganui’s Danny Wanganui's Danny Willemsen, Pukekohe’s Craig Brown, Christchurch’s Brad Norton, Taranaki’s Mitch Rowe, Otago’s Courtney Duncan, Rotorua's Melissa Patterson, Taranaki’s Olivia Cottam and Atiamuri's Nikita Knight, to name just a few.