Wednesday, October 20


Thanks to his emphatic win in the Iveco Australian 125 Grand Prix, the young Spanish rider, Marc Marquez clinched the World Manufacturer's Championship for Derbi for the 2010 Moto GP season.

For the Catalan-based manufacturer, founded in Martorelles in 1922 and now part of the Piaggio Group, the title earned at Phillip Island is the 20th world championship it has taken. These comprise nine manufacturer's titles and 11 riders championships.

Derbi machines made their World Championship début at Barcelona in May 1962 in the Spanish Grand Prix on the old Montjuic street circuit. In the hands of Jose Busquets, the 50cc Debri finished runner-up to the Kreidler of German rider Hans Georg Anscheidt and ahead of the Honda of Swiss rider Luigi Taveri.

However, it was six years before the Spanish manufacturer scored its breakthrough GP win. This came on June 14, 1968 when Australian Barry Smith won the 50cc race on the motorcycling world's most legendary track, the Isle of Man TT course.

It was the first victory for a "Bala Roja" (red bullet), as the Derbi was called by Spanish enthusiasts.

Australian Barry Smith on the 50cc Derbi in 1968.

Great champions have since raced and won with the Derbi. To name a few, Jorge Martínez 'Aspar' (32 wins ), Angel Nieto (30), Japanese rider Youichi Ui (11), Jorge Lorenzo (4) and Frenchman Mike di Meglio (4).

The nine Manufacturer titles have been earned by Derbi in the 125 class (four times), 250 class (twice) and 50 cc (three times).

This year Derbi had already celebrated an historic marker in GP racing – 100 victories – thanks once again to Marquez when he the German 125 Grand Prix in August. With the Phillip Island win, Derbi has chalked up 105 GP victories.