Thursday, May 19


Twenty of New Zealand's top motorcycling clubs are sending a six person team to compete in Taupo for the ultimate "king of trophy's" which carries the award of being called the champion New Zealand motocross club.

The event is in its second year and is used as a fundraiser to send the New Zealand representative team to the Motocross of Nations. The event is scheduled for Saturday May 28th at the Digger McEwen Motocross Park and will see New Zealand's top riders competing for their own club in a combined format.

There will be 3 races per senior and junior groups with points accumulating per race, combining toward a grand total that will give us the top club.

The Motocross of Nations is being hosted by the French federation at St Jean D' Angely, September 17th & 18th 2011, at the renowned GP circuit situated in the west of France. Three riders from New Zealand will be selected to represent the country at this prestigious "Olympics" of motocross, where the riders will face-off after a gruelling seasons racing.

Current and past champions will be competing in Taupo, including the Darryl & Shayne King, locals Nick Saunders and Brad Groombridge who will be showing us a true spectacle of action packed motocross racing.

Winners of the inaugural event, Pukekohe Motorcycle Club are fronting up with a formidable line up of riders eager to hold on to the trophy.  "It will be a pleasure to drive the trophy home again on Saturday night" says Scott Wilkins team captain from Pukekohe Motorcycle Club.

The Taupo Motorcycle Club is getting behind fundraising needed to guarantee that NZ have a team at the Motocross of Nations 2011 and will be asking for gold coin donation to view this event. Racing will be underway by 10:30am at the Digger McEwen Motocross Park, Miro St, Taupo.
Taupo Motorcycle Club.