Wednesday, June 1


John McGuinness again set he pace during Tuesday evening's qualifying sesssions at this year's Isle of Man TT meeting.

The riders were out at 6.30pm with Michael Dunlop and Guy Martin first to leave the line, Martin on the Superbike and Dunlop on the Supersport machine. Cameron Donald and Gary Johnson were the next pairing to go, swiftly followed by Ryan Farquhar, Bruce Anstey, Keith Amor and Dan Stewart. All were Superbike mounted as was Adrian Archibald out for the first time on a brand new ZX-10R Kawasaki. Fifteen time race winner John McGuinness was in the 8th pairing away.

Johnson was the first man back at 127.71mph just ahead of Martin at 126.325mph, followed by Donald at 125.05 and Anstey at 126.24. Amor and Stewart were slightly slower at 125.9mph and 125.8mph whilst McGuinness moved up to second quickest on 126.975mph.

Meanwhile, Dunlop was the fastest 600 with a lap of 123.59mph followed by James Hillier on 118.415mph and Luis Carreira on 118.402. Conor Cummins was also improving steadily, breaking the 120mph at 120.203mph. McGuinness clocked the quickest time through the Sulby speed trap at 190.6mph

Most of the main contenders were able to complete 5 laps during the session with Donald putting in a late flyer of 128.08mph on his Superbike.