Wednesday, October 19


Mangakino’s Alex Dillon (left) and Taupo’s Emma Davis
Words and photo by Andy McGechan,

The motocross racing was short but sweet in the Manawatu at the weekend.

Heavy rain on Saturday and again overnight ruined an otherwise brilliant farmland circuit just outside Feilding, forcing organisers to cancel day two of the 2011 New Zealand Veterans’ and Women's Motocross Championships early on Sunday morning.

With vehicles having to be towed out of the venue at the conclusion of Saturday’s racing, the warning signs were there for the following day and, when rain again fell overnight on Saturday, the condition of the venue’s access point and the pit area became impossible.

That meant this year’s championships were decided after just three races per class and not five races in total, as had originally been planned.

But that did nothing to lessen the intensity of the racing or credibility of the titles, with fierce racing in difficult conditions on Saturday a true test for champions.

Perhaps closest of all was the battle for honours in the senior women’s class, where defending champion Kimberley Murphy, of Rangiora, had to make way for fantastic duelling ahead of her on the track between Mangakino’s Alex Dillon and Taupo’s Emma Davis.

Seventeen-year-old Dillon finished 1-2-1 in her three races on Saturday, hounded throughout by the 24-year-old Davis, who managed 4-1-2, giving her a healthy seven-point advantage ahead of the anticipated second day that never came, meaning she had done enough to claim the crown.

Murphy eventually had to settle for fourth overall, behind Dillon, Davis and Bombay’s Courtney Lindsay.

Other title winners were Te Puke’s Dion Steiner (30-34 years’ under-300cc), Hamilton’s Dwayne Rameka (35-39 years’ under-300cc), Whakatane’s Darren Capill (40-44 years’ under-300cc and over-300cc), New Plymouth’s Mitch Rowe (45-59 years under-300cc and over-300cc), New Plymouth’s Richard Adamson (30-34 years’ over-300cc), Cambridge’s Nick Price (35-39 years’ over-300cc), Blenheim’s Moston Wadsworth (over 50 years’ all-in), Matakohe’s Simone Sidwell (junior women class one), New Plymouth’s Zoe Jurd (junior women class two) and Taupo’s Katrina Lee (veteran women, over-30 years).