Tuesday, July 31


Honda claimed a record 25th win in the annual Suzuka 8 Hour race in Japan last weekend, the CBR1000RR of Jonathan Rea, Kousuke Akiyoshi and Tadayuki Okada taking victory from the Toho Racing Moriwaki Honda of Tetsuya Yamaguchi, Yuki Takahashi and Yusuke Teshima.

In sharing the win World Superbike championship star Rea became the first British rider to claim victory in the event while for veteran Tadayuki Okada the win was his third in 17 years, his first - which he shared with Kiwi Aaron Slight - coming way back in 1995 and his second in 1999. 

The winning team completed 215 laps of the 5.807Km figure eight-shaped circuit to win by four laps.

Tenth was another Honda team, this time the TT Legends one, an ABS-quipped Honda Fireblade piloted by Isle of Man regulars John McGuinness, Cameron Donald and Jason O’Halloran.