Thursday, August 23


Some of the riders who took part on the inaugural
Hyosung GT250R Cup.
By Michael Esdaile

Following a very successful inaugural series, the Hyosung GT250R Cup will once again be run at Hampton Downs and Pukekohe Raceway, starting in a month's time.

There will be five events on the calendar for 2012-2013 with a total of $10,000 in prizemoney on offer and once again the Auckland Motorcycle Club will host the series, this year with the support new principal sponsor WIL Sport Management.

Already 30 riders have registered to compete in what is the closest and most competitive road-racing seen for years in New Zealand.

Reigning series winner Daniel Mettam will saddle up to defend his title, this time on a 2012 model Delphi EFi GT250R. He has teamed up with Connor Le Cheminant in the bright yellow DHL Door to More Team. Also back for more 250 Production fun is last year's third place rider Nathanael Diprose, along with Beau Dobson, Haydn Hutchinson, Connor London, Todd Nenov, Aidan Dorr and of course Hyosung sales manager Fergus Maynes.

With all riders on GT250 Hyosungs, the action will be close so do not be surprised if we see some new names emerge from the ruck before the series finale at Hampton Downs in April next year.

The WIL Sport Hyosung GT250R Cup is also proudly backed by Hyosung Motorcycles, MTF Barrys Point Road, Barnes Jenkins, Screaming Demon, Road Guide, Kolorinn Kustoms plus new sponsors Regina, Unit II and

Once again the Hyosung series patron is former New Zealand international Graeme Crosby

Not only will prize money be paid down to 10th place but new prizes offered are trophies for the Barnes Jenkins Super Pole, fastest Lap and the MTF Spirit of the Cup.

The series winner will receive an all new and coveted WIL Sport Hyosung GT250R Cup. The recipient of this trophy will have shown extreme corner speed, good starting skills, expert race craft and of course a top finishing record. This is no easy Championship to win.

Race dates are:

September 29, 2012 - Hampton Downs

November 11, 2012 - Pukekohe Raceway

December 2, 2012 - Hampton Downs

March 3, 2013 - Pukekohe Raceway

April 7, 2013 - Hampton Downs