Friday, December 28


Kawasaki rider Nick Cole won both the F1 races but it was Christchurch's Dennis Charlett who wrapped up the 2012 Tri-Series crown at the annual Cemetery Circuit meeting in Wanganui on Boxing Day.

Suzuki rider Charlett already had one hand on the main trophy for the 2012 Suzuki Tri Series competition – in the form of a seven-point lead over his nearest rival, Wellington’s Sloan Frost (BMW S 1000 RR) heading into the 60th anniversary meeting and he rode conservatively - netting a fourth and a third in the two F1 races - to claim the premier Tri-Series F1 title from Frost, Suzuki riders Hayden Fitzgerald and Ray Clee and Christchurch’s Ryan Hampton (Honda).

Jaden Hassan (Yamaha YZF-R6) also played the conservative card to wrap up the Tri Series' Formula Two class title, the young Aucklander unbeaten at rounds one and two but overshadowed at Wanganui by home-town pair Ashley Payne and Jayden Carrick.

Payne won the day with 3-1 results, while Carrick took his Suzuki GSX-R600 to win the day’s first of two F2 races and came home 11th in the next race.

Another local rider, Richard Dibben (Honda) also won the Supermoto class by just two points from Tauranga’s Duncan Hart (Yamaha), with last season’s Tri Series Supermoto champion Toby Summers (Yamaha) third

The day was cut short at Wanganui because of safety concerns when the skies opened with a huge downpour just before 5pm and this meant the stand-alone feature race, the Robert Holden Memorial, was not contested for the first time in the event’s 60-year history.