Monday, May 6


Reflecting on race times and lap records...

OF THE three tracks that have hosted MotoGP so far this year, one of them was new to the series – the Circuit of the Americas outside Austin, Texas so there was no comparable data to compare.

However, looking at both Losail and Jerez, the only record broken was Dani Pedrosa’s 2010 race lap record at Jerez.  Jorge Lorenzo clipped a few tenths off that on his second lap this year.

The pole, race and lap records at Losail still stand, set in 2008, the last year of open tyre competition in the class.

Here’s the breakdown for Losail:

Pole position record:        1m 53.927s (170.0 km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) 2008.
2013 Pole time:               1m 54.714s (168.8 km/h) Jorge Lorenzo.
Race lap record:                1m 55.153s (169.1 km/h), Casey Stoner (Ducati) 2008.
2013 fastest race lap:      1m 55.445s (167.7 km/h), Marc Marquez (Honda).
Race record time:             42m 36.587s (166.70 km/), Casey Stoner (Ducati) 2008.
2013 race time:              42m 39.802s (166.40 km/h), Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha).

And here is the situation at Jerez:

Pole position record:        1m 38.189s (162.1 km/h), Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) 2008.
2013 Pole time:               1m 38.673s (161.3 km/h), Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha).
Race lap record:                1m 39.565s  (159.9 km/h), Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) 2013.
Previous lap record:         1m 39.731s (159.6 km/h), Dani  Pedrosa (Honda) 2010.
Race record time:             45m 17.538s (158.20 km/h), Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)  2010.
2013 race time:              45m 17.632s (158.10 km/h), Dani Pedrosa (Honda).

Although Pedrosa did not beat Lorenzo’s 2010 race winning time at Jerez, he was very close.  The track temperature was 47°C this year compared with 44°C in 2010 and the 1000cc bikes have to make do with the same amount of fuel (21 litres) as the old 800cc bikes did in 2010.

The last time Pedrosa won at Jerez was in 2008.  That year it took him 45m 35.121s to cover the 27 laps.  That means this year he was 17.489 seconds quicker over the race distance than when he last won there.  The track temperature in 2008 was just 23°C so it seems the Bridgestone tyres like a much warmer track at Jerez.