Monday, August 19


IN A Stoneresque performance, Spanish MotoGP rookie Marc Marquez extended his lead in the 2013 MotoGP World Championship with a convincing win in the Indianapolis Grand Prix on Sunday.

Marquez was fastest in every practice session, topped the Sunday morning warm-up and won the race, a performance not seen since Casey Stoner dominated the Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island last year.

As a result, Marquez stretched his lead in the championship from 16 to 21 points over compatriot and Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa, who finished second, three and a half seconds in arrears.

Unlike previous years, the race at Indianapolis was run over 27 laps, not the usual 28 laps, so Pedrosa still holds the race record over the longer distance after his win there last year.

Defending world champion Jorge Lorenzo led the first 12 laps, first from Pedrosa, then Marquez, as the MotoGP rookie started his run to victory, displacing his team-mate from second spot after eight laps.

After Marquez passed him for the lead, Lorenzo stayed with the young Honda rider until three laps from the finish when Pedrosa nipped past to take over the second spot on the rostrom.

Young Englishman Bradley Smith made a lightning start on the Tech 3 Yamaha to initially hold fourth spot, but he was quickly displaced by team-mate Cal Crutchlow who then engaged in a race long dice with Alvaro Bautista for fourth place.

Further back, Lorenzo's team-mate Valentino Rossi was making his way forward after qualifying ninth fastest and after ten laps was up to seventh, behind LCR Honda rider Stefan Bradl who was shadowing the battling Bautista-Crutchlow dice.

Rossi tagged on the back of the group and on lap 22 got past the young German, then, with two laps to go, gave Bautista the slip, then nailed Crutchlow on the last lap.

Out front it was all Marquez, who re-set the lap record on lap 18, 1m 39.044s.

Pos.No.RiderBikeTime / Diff.
193Marc MARQUEZHonda44'52.463
226Dani PEDROSAHonda3.495
399Jorge LORENZOYamaha5.704
446Valentino ROSSIYamaha19.895
535Cal CRUTCHLOWYamaha19.955
619Alvaro BAUTISTAHonda20.061
76Stefan BRADLHonda24.842
838Bradley SMITHYamaha40.69
969Nicky HAYDENDucati40.701
104Andrea DOVIZIOSODucati40.823
1129Andrea IANNONEDucati59.668
1241Aleix ESPARGAROART+1'06.650
135Colin EDWARDSFTR Kawasaki+1'09.462
1471Claudio CORTIFTR Kawasaki+1'15.207
157Hiroshi AOYAMAFTR+1'20.159
168Hector BARBERAFTR+1'25.879
179Danilo PETRUCCIIoda-Suter+1'29.616
1870Michael LAVERTYPBM+1'36.388
1967Bryan STARINGFTR Honda1 Lap
Not Classified
52Lukas PESEKIoda-Suter13 Laps
14Randy DE PUNIETART22 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
79Blake YOUNGAPR0 Lap
For the full world championship position, click here